7 Google Analytics Tips for Content Writers

Jack Vawdrey
10 min readDec 31, 2019

You’ve likely opened Google Analytics at one point or another to see how many people have visited your site or a client’s site.

But how well do you actually know how to use Google Analytics? Could you take advantage of the data available to make decisions about what to write and what to improve?

Writers (including freelance writers) who are well-versed in Google Analytics have an advantage over those who are not. But the challenge remains: How do you learn? What do you learn?

In the time I’ve spent managing my day job’s blog, as well as managing my own blog, I’ve been able to learn a thing or two about Google Analytics — well enough to find answers to the following questions and inform my writing strategy. Now I’m sharing those ideas with you 😁.

Start digging into the questions and answers below. If you find them valuable, bookmark this post to come back to it as you develop your analytics skills.

  1. How can I see the top pages on my website?
  2. How can I make Google Analytics not record my own traffic?
  3. How do I see data for just blog content?
  4. How do I see what viewers in each channel look at?
  5. How can I find which keywords bring people to my site?

--

--

Jack Vawdrey

Content marketing in the day. Learning new skills at night. All content is available for syndication. Comment for more info.